I love The Sneaky Chef! Picky son ate spinach, broccoli, peas, and squash tonight!

Feeding a child on the autism spectrum can be quite a challenge.  OK sometimes just feeding kids can be a challenge.  However,  tonight I got him to eat bbq meatballs and mac and cheese.  Mac and cheese is really a no brainer, but he had no idea that I loaded it up with squash (baby food in this case.)  He can tell when I put carrots in it, but not squash.  🙂 

The meatballs were wonderful, but a little time consuming.  I made enough for spaghetti later this week.  They were a hit with both of my boys and their visiting friend!  I used the recipe for the meatballs from The Sneaky Chef.  They were loaded with spinach, broccoli, and peas.  They also had wheat germ in them.  I used half ground turkey and half hamburger, but my kids are used to that.  If you are going to try to switch to ground turkey go slowly in the combination.

The bbq sauce that I made is actually one that I normally use for parties, but it was requested.  It is 3 tablespoons of grape jelly and 3/4 cup of bbq sauce melted in the skillet.   I was so surprised that they ate ALL of the food.  I had no leftovers!  It was a hit and definitely a make again!

2 thoughts on “I love The Sneaky Chef! Picky son ate spinach, broccoli, peas, and squash tonight!

  1. Hi, I work with The Sneaky Chef and saw your post. It’s really a sweet story and we’d like to hear more about it. Would you be kind enough to contact me at my email address above ?

    Thanks and All the best,

    Larry Chase

Leave a Reply

