Spent the day crafting with the kids!

I woke up early this morning with the best intentions of beginning to clean the upstairs.  We did have a friend of the boys coming over, and I decided they would have more fun with an organized activity.  I had thought about making a stuffed toy in the style of the “Ugly Dolls.”  The Ugly dolls are super cute, but a little pricey for me.  Besides it was the “creating” that I was looking for today. 

So that is what we did.  I found some directions on-line, but ended up just winging it.  It is hard to help three kids and keep checking the computer.  🙂  I also have to admit that I didn’t want copy-right infringement going on.

The first thing I had the kids do was draw it on a big piece of paper, and cut them out.

Then I cut out the fleece.  This is the part that I really had to do, and I would do differently next time.  With kids I SHOULD have let them sew on the face pieces before I sewed the doll together.  It is just easier for their hands.  However, I didn’t do that and ended up having to help them a lot with the face.  They stuffed their dolls and sewed up the hole.

They really loved this project.  They were so proud of their ugl-I mean monster dolls. 🙂

    

Great project!

3 thoughts on “Spent the day crafting with the kids!

  1. Keb thought the dolls were totally cool, and he wants to make an ugly doll too. He thought all three were cute, but he liked Noah’s the best. Now we have two crafts to make! 🙂
    Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Pingback: Copycat! « Everything but the Kitchen Sink

  3. Pingback: COPY CAT! « Everything but the Kitchen Sink

Leave a Reply

