Hard Decisions

I really love LIFE.  It is ever changing and always eventful.  It is passionate and emotional.  Sometimes it is easy and fun, but other times it is more challenging, even devastating.  It really is a gift. 

Earlier this summer, my days were spent baking flat, pancake like things loaves of bread, and playing with my children.  However my summer changed a few weeks ago and it has become challenging, even hard.

Which brings me to hard decisions.  Life is full of hard decisions.  Some I know I’ve done the right thing, others I’m unsure, and then there are those things that I know I have done the WRONG thing.  I think about decisions that I have made with my kids.  Maybe sometimes I have done the wrong things, but that is OK.  I have learned from them.  My kids have learned from them.  Things don’t always work out, and they need to learn that.  They need to have some coping skills in place for when they are adults and they are making the hard decisions.

I’ve made decisions in my career.  If I had made other decisions I would be much higher on the payscale, but I can honestly say I have learned so much from the places I have been.

Right now I am making decisions within our community.  I believe strongly in volunteering and giving to your community.  I have been thrust into a position that I am not completely comfortable with.  I know that some of my actions may make me rather unpopular at the moment.  However I have been trusted to do what is right to the best of my knowledge.  I take that trust seriously. 

My decisions rarely affect only myself.

P.S.  Ok, now after I reread this I realized that in my last line I almost verbatim wrote what my friend, Judy, wrote about yesterday. “Very rarely do our mistakes, bad judgments, or close calls affect only us. ”  So I reread her post and am feeling inspired by this verse that she included.

“So let’s not get tired of doing what is good.  At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessings if we don’t give up.” (Galatians 6:9)

3 thoughts on “Hard Decisions

  1. This is perfect…while I was reading this today, I was thinking ‘this sounds just like Jude’s devotion!!’ Wow!!! God is really working in your life!!

    Also, after reading your blog entry, I am reminded of Pastor Craig’s message on Sunday…..”some people aren’t going to like us for what we stand up for and believe.” I’m paraphrasing this, of course…he stated it much better!! 🙂

    I’m making lots of “connections” with this blog!!

    Thank you, dear friend!!!

  2. Sometimes it is hard to keep fighting the good fight. This post is a good reminder for me as I struggle to do what is right in every area of my life. I really appreciate your candor and diligence.

Leave a Reply

