Trying New Things

I am a proponent of learning.  That should be obvious being an educator.  However, I sometimes have difficulty trying new things.  I’m a girl that goes to a restaurant and always orders the same dish.  I don’t like making phone calls.  I’m not a good net worker.  I have hang ups about going places that I don’t know.

Case in point, this wonderful little yarn shop uptown.  We have an amazing yarn shop in this little town that I live in.  I have begun knitting.  When you knit you need yarn.  I drive 35 minutes to buy yarn rather than go into this sweet little store. 

I did go in once, with my children.  I spoke with the owner briefly.  She is lovely.  She offered to teach me how to read patterns and teach me to knit.  Ummm…well I haven’t been back.  I planned to go back without my children, but … I don’t know why I haven’t been back. 

I almost went back.  I pulled in the parking lot.  Then I decided that since I wasn’t sure what project I was going to do, I should wait and go another day.  I have decided know.  Later this week 🙂 I am going to go buy some beautiful yarn, the kind of yarn I see on Etsy.  (She is closed today, and I have a meeting tomorrow.)

My bigger question is why do I do this?  Why do I lack so much faith in myself that I paralyze myself?  It just doesn’t make sense.  Oddly I would bet that people that know me, even some that know me well, probably wouldn’t peg me to be like this.  I’m going to have to think about this….

5 thoughts on “Trying New Things

  1. JAG, sometimes I am like this as well. I think I am afraid to open myself up too much to people. Sometimes I won’t even allow myself new experiences even if I think they will be enjoyable. In a way, it is a form of self-sabotage.

  2. So, did you go?

    I’m wondering if your reasoning is like people who prefer cities to small towns. Ironically, you can be in a large city and NEVER make contact with another person (despite all the people). You can remain fairly anonymous and go about your business without having to interact. However, in small towns, people know you and there is an expectation of being beyond friendly and civil.

    Do you think it’s less about yarn and more about feeling encumbered? Did it feel like it would become a commitment? Did you suddenly feel something that was not yarn related? I’m just asking.

    BTW, I have found that I really hate shopping. I’ll go through Herculean efforts to avoid shopping for much of anything that I can’t get at Target. Maybe it’s time related or just ONE MORE THING?

    What do you think?

  3. You know I’m wondering if you are right. It is way easier to just order it online. No one cares what I’m making or that I don’t have a clue what I am doing. 🙂 I hadn’t thought of it like that.

    I have to laugh about the shopping thing though. I’m hating it too. Except I keep thinking, I wish Suzanne were here. We could go to the outlet mall. I miss you.

  4. NO, you HAVE to knit. You like creative outlets, and, truthfully, people do care. It’s like the ugly dolls. People really do like getting them. It’s like an ongoing expression of love. Whenever you see or use it, it’s like a little hug.

    What I meant is: is it one more thing to become friendly with someone else who has GREAT intentions, but is pushing you (maybe) to do more than you’re willing to take on right now? After all, cool yarn, close by, but feeling like an obligation. Is it taking your hobby too far, too fast?

    After all, those Walmart folks barely know where the yarn is, let alone how to use it. 🙂 But they will leave you alone to ponder what you want. LOL!

    And you didn’t answer… Did you go? I’m hearing, “no”. (giggle, giggle, snort). I can’t say anything, I think the Michael’s people are too happy.

Leave a Reply

