Someone Has an Odd Sense of Humor

Last night the Cub Scouts went to tour the new county jail.  It is open to the public before they actually begin using it.  The Scouts loved it.

It was clean, sparse, white and metal everywhere you looked, well almost everywhere.  On the wall every 20-25 feet there are these Plexiglas frames permanently screwed into the walls.  In these frames are motivational messages.  Some of them I totally got.  The one about responsibility: “Acceptance of what happened is the first step in overcoming any misfortune.”

There was one though that sent me into a fit of giggles.  I’m serious!  I just thought this was sort of mean and out of place.  “Happiness:  Joy is infectious; therefore, always be full of joy.” and I kept adding, “in jail!”

Maybe it is just me.

P.S.  My kids thought jail was totally cool.  They kept laying on the cots saying, “I’ve been here for 50 years.”  Lord, help me.

One thought on “Someone Has an Odd Sense of Humor

  1. Your kids are too funny! That sounds like it was an interesting experience. I often think many of the kids I work with could benefit from a “Scared Straight” program.

Leave a Reply

