The Old Saying Goes, “Attitude is Everything”

We have all heard it.  It isn’t new.  Sometimes though when you start to hear something over and over and over again, you begin to wonder, “God are you trying to tell me something?”  That is how I am feeling.

In the last week I have had this thought almost drilled into me.  (There is another subject that keeps coming up as well, but that will be a different day.)  It first popped up during a news story about the candidates.  It was actually about how Obama and McCain have managed to stay healthy during their campaigns during the cold season.  They touch everyone!  Apparently they also keep the hand-sanitizing companies in business.  The biggest thing though is they just smile through it and keep saying they feel great.

I discussed it with a fellow teacher.  Well not intentionally, but essentially it was the topic.  We were discussing two of our students.  Both have the same issues, but one is so much more hopeful than the other.  Long term we have some serious concerns about the angry child.  His attitude is crippling his education, friendships, and really his future.

Then today on the Pioneer Woman’s Blog, her husband compared two women both living basically in the same conditions.  One seemed hopeless and the other hopeful.  The difference was faith.

It has come up in many other ways to me lately.  I’m trying to take it to heart.  Those that have followed my blog may remember that my husband was laid off in early September.  He still has not found a job.  It is difficult.  I’m trying to keep my attitude one of thankfulness.  I keep this verse close by,

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I know it is even more difficult for my husband.  I know that he is frustrated. 

I’m trying to maintain perspective and a positive attitude even through a very challenging time.  The old saying goes, “Attitude is everything.”

One thought on “The Old Saying Goes, “Attitude is Everything”

  1. It is hard to remain positive in the face of adversity–trust me I know! But I can say that even when things are not working out, I feel better when I remain optimistic.

    I also try to focus my attentions on someone else. It helps me to keep reminding myself that “this too shall pass,” as well as the trite but true, expression “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

Leave a Reply

