Yummy recipe–OK kids aren’t into it, but…

I made an acorn squash tonight with applesauce, brown sugar, and raisins.  It was really good.

I left out the nuts as I knew my texture boy would hate that.  We can’t mix textures too much and nuts are a no-no.  Todd and I like the squash.  The boys made an instant judgement call and had to be forced to try it. 

They didn’t die from it, but they were very dramatic in their interpretations.  I won’t share those as my BOYS have gotten into gross bathroom humor lately.   

To be honest, I think they will eventually eat it.  It is just one of those things they will have to see again and again.  They will have to get used to the smell, sight, and eventually they will eat it.  It takes E a lot longer than his older brother, but sometimes we get there.

At least E tried it.  I couldn’t get him to try a beet.  🙂

One thought on “Yummy recipe–OK kids aren’t into it, but…

  1. If you find a way to get the kids to eat it, share your secret! I love acorn squash but I have to make it for my lunch since no one else wants it as part of the meal. My ASD kiddo can’t do nuts or mushy or anything odd either, but I think he’d love the taste if he could handle the smell, feel, texture, etc. 😉

Leave a Reply

