The Best Cookies I’ve Had in AGES!!

Part of my weekend alone project was to bake something.  Even though everyone is home now, I still am working through my list.  I did get my house cleaned, really clean.  It looks pretty good, if I do say so myself.  🙂  So it was time to bake!

I had a bag of butterscotch chips, so I surfed the web looking for an oatmeal butterscotch chip recipe.  I found one, but altered it so much that I am now calling it mine.  🙂  However, I like you, so I will share.

cookies-and-stitch-002

Banana Oatmeal Scotchies

[this makes 4 dozen cookies]

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I actually use a flour mixture, see below)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

2 bananas
3 cups quick or old-fashioned oats
1 2/3 cups (11 oz. package) NESTLE TOLL HOUSE Butterscotch Flavored Morsels

1/4 pecans (optional)

Preheat oven to 375.
Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, and banans extract in large mixer bowl. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in oats,pecans, and morsels. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.
Bake for 7 to 8 minutes for chewy cookies; 9 to 10 minutes for crisp cookies. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

They are wonderful!  Even my picky sensory child liked them!

Flour mixture (from The Sneaky Chef by Missy Chase Lapine)

1 Cup White Flour

1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1 Cup Wheat Germ

Mix it up and use it any time the recipe calls for flour.  I use it all the time.  My kids don’t even notice it anymore.  Even texture sensitive boy!

My cat enjoyed my day as well.

cookies-and-stitch-001

OK I just stuck that in, because I thought Stitch was cute.

2 thoughts on “The Best Cookies I’ve Had in AGES!!

  1. I guess I should be happy you like me. You really like me. OK, I just stuck that in because it amused me. Have a great time at the theater. I’m looking for a box to ship shoes/bags in.

Leave a Reply

