On My Mind

I have been spending a lot of time thinking about finances lately.  That of course is bound to happen in this current economic crisis.  For those that don’t know my husband was laid off awhile ago, and has not been able to find a job.  This seems to be becoming a more common problem for many families.

We are currently participating in a course that our church is offering on financial management.  We have learned so much and are actually able to put most of it in practice even on one income.   The course is Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University.  I like it because it is very “real.”  His strategies are doable.  They take in account that I will need a little bit of “blow” money.  Most of all I like that it requires both Todd and I to work together.  This has not been our strong point.  For some reason, I can’t talk about money without having an anxiety attack–seriously.  I blame it on growing up broke.

On a different, yet similar note, I am listening to a book on tape right now that is amazing.  I was basically forced to listen to it, by my husband and children.  They had listened to it over the past few weeks and had finished it.  The book is call The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. It is a book about vampires.  Normally that probably wouldn’t catch my interest very much, but this is a really good book.  I want to hear more, and more, and more… you get the picture.

One thought on “On My Mind

Leave a Reply

