Allowing Myself to Not Be Busy

I had an an usual thing occur this weekend.  I found myself with 24 hours of time.  I had no where that I had to be and nothing that had to be done.  It doesn’t mean I didn’t have things to do, but nothing HAD to be done. 

This was the first “day off” that I have had since December.  I don’t count spring break as I was pushing myself  to get our house painted. 

Having time was difficult for me.  I kept finding myself filling it.  First I had offers of tickets to go to Women of Faith.  I love WOF, but declined knowing that I need this mental/physical break.  Then it was the offer of a free ticket for part of the conference.  That was incredibly hard to turn down, but I did.

So what did I do?  As a family we went to Free Comic Book Day  and stocked up on a huge pile.  We went to breakfast and then to Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  I had a gift certificate from the parents at church from the children’s musical.  I deliberately did not buy household stuff that I needed.  I did buy this lovely reclining lounger.  Then I sat in my backyard sipping coffee and reading the third book in the Twilight series. 

It was quiet and peaceful.  OK except for the screams that happened every 5 minutes or so (we live near an amusement park and we can hear the roller coaster.)  Even the screams were calm and relaxing.  I need to force more of these days upon myself.  I like them.  I like them a lot.

One thought on “Allowing Myself to Not Be Busy

  1. Good for you. I was going to call while I was cleaning, but then I thought maybe you were just hanging out and vegging. Remember, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. It makes Jill snappish and irritated though.

    Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

