I’m a Boring Cook

I am a very basic, comfort food cook.  There are some things I make really well.  My soups rock!  I make a great lasagna.  My family loves my cheeseburger casserole and my chicken and noodles.

There you go that’s about it.  I’m not allowed to make tacos or anything too ethnic.  I live with a child that is VERY particular about his food.  My husband also has high cholesterol, so I watch that. 

Now if I’m really truthful this is where I admit that the last 6 months we have probably eaten out more than in.  I’m not proud of that, but I was basically working two full-time jobs.  However I am not doing that any longer.  I also cleaned off my table so that we can now eat there again. 

In the mail today I got my new issue of Clean Eating.  I started flipping through it and was very pleased with the articles this month.  I really like the Multiply Your Meals, $10 Family Dinners Fast, and the 14 Day Meal Plan.  I won’t lie my youngest probably won’t eat any of it.  I’m still going to try.  The Sesame Garlic Chicken recipe looks wonderful as does the Crustless Italian Quiché. 

I was drawn to the Moroccan Buffalo and Chickpea Chili until I realized they meant REAL buffalo not buffalo chicken.  I don’t think I’m ready to try that.  Now there is also some awesome pizza recipes.  That is an easy one to modify for E.  I just make his cheese, cheese, and only cheese.

Hmmm…I will try something this weekend and let you know how it goes.

6 thoughts on “I’m a Boring Cook

  1. I confess, I am a boring cook, too. Mostly, my goal is to get someone else to cook. So I buy things at the grocery store that are easy for my husband or my adult children to cook. I am big on eggs; sandwiches; chicken or salmon doused in lemon juice, olive oil, rosemary and garlic. I purposely encourage my husband’s “specialties”: chili, spaghetti, and pot roast. 🙂 I would never cook his specialties. My specialties are chicken and dumplings; crock pot pork roast with Dorothy sauce; and salad. But those take longer to cook, and since I hardly have any stretches of time that long in my days, we only eat them on weekends. (Ok, salad doesn’t take that long).

      • Dorothy gave a recipe for barbecue sauce to my mother when I was a teenager (some 35 years ago). My siblings and I all grew up to love this barbecue sauce. This is the recipe: 1 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce, and 1-3 tablespoons of yellow mustard. Combine in small pot and heat slowly until just boiling and all ingredients are well mixed. There are a lot of variations on this recipe on the web, and I am absolutely sure it was not original with Dorothy. But since we all knew her, it is called Dorothy sauce. At my house, we always have it with pork and rice. My siblings and their family have it differently (some add apple cider vinegar, or honey).

Leave a Reply

