My Oldest Is Growing Up and It Is Blowing My Mind

We went to a lovely small Friday night celebration in our town tonight.  It was fabulous.  Lots of families, good music, and there were lots of things to do.  One of the booths is our Childrens’ Theatre.  We, of course, had to stop and talk as I am President of the Board of Directors.  After I got my temporary  tatoo, I realized that we had lost my oldest son.  Not in body, but in spirit.  He was no longer with the family.

I look over and he is perched on a cement bench surrounded by three cute, giggly girls.  He was gone.  He no longer heard anything I was saying, and no longer wanted to walk with us.  He was busy.

I’m not sure I’m ready for this.  I’m his momma, and of course I think he’s cute, funny, and will someday be a great catch, but not yet…  Thankfully another mom that I work with was standing there.  Her son is older.  He’s a great kid.  I just went to his Eagle Scout Ceremony last weekend.  Anyway, she told me not to worry.  This was “pre-flirting”.  Where the kids are just testing themselves.

That really didn’t make me feel any better though.

Leave a Reply

