The Pool

Today we are going to the pool.  My friend Suzanne has one directly in her back yard, so they swim a lot.  I have a child with sensory processing issues that for years couldn’t do water, I got out of the habit of taking my kids to the pool.  Thankfully, E can handle the pool and even knows how to basic swim.  That is due to a lovely friend of mine that gave him private lessons.  She was beyond patient with him. 

Today we are taking the baby, the boys, and 4 cousins.  One of the cousins is the baby’s big sister.  I am hopeful that this will give them some good bonding time.  It’s hard to be 14 and trying to bond during weekly visits.   I am really hoping that this gives them time to play and bond in a more authentic environment.  Really not just for them, but for all of us.  We are not the usual family, but we are family. 

I am a little afraid that maybe I have put too many hopes into one trip to the pool.  Well that will be alright, we have all summer.  We can go again.

One thought on “The Pool

  1. This reminded me of Lilo and Stitch. Stitch: “This is my family. I found it, all on my own. Is little, and broken, but still good. Yeah, still good.” Of course there’s also: “‘Ohana means family, family means nobody gets left behind. Or forgotten.”

    Your hopes are not too high. No matter what the family unit is, it is still good.

Leave a Reply

